Discover How to Make Wine Gluten Free


is wine gluten free

Many people wonder if they can buy wine that is gluten free. There are a number of wines available that are labeled “gluten free”, but are they really safe to drink? Can you really have a wine that is safe to drink if it has gluten in it? The truth is that some wines may be okay to drink if they have low levels of gluten, but the majority of them should not be consumed at all. Wine producers are not required to tell customers that they use gluten in their products. This means that there is no way for consumers to be sure that the wines they purchase are safe to drink with any type of gluten consumption.

An Overview

A bowl of fruit sitting on a table

There are a number of different types of wine that are labeled “gluten free”, but these are usually simply a substitute for a regular bottle of wine without gluten added to it. Common alternatives to gluten-free include balsamic and white grape brandy, sparkling wines, rose wines and dry sherry. However, the most common type of wine that is produced with gluten is wine that is made by using wheat or rye instead of grapes. This can also include pastries such as bread and bagels that are created from wheat. It can even mean vegetarian wine.

There are a number of alcohols that are used in alcohol-free food. Alcohols that will be acceptable to drink wine and to mix with food include beer, gin, rum, vodka, tequila, and whiskey. Some of the more high end brands of alcohols that are gluten sensitive include brandy, rum, vodka, champagne and tequila. Brandy, a fortified beverage, is one of the most commonly consumed alcohols and is used for mixing with food. Other higher end alcoholic beverages such as lima or liqueur can also be used as an alternative to alcohol. However, anyone with gluten sensitivity should avoid any kind of mix between alcohol and gluten.

Buying Tips

A group of fruit and vegetables

When buying wine that is gluten free you want to make sure you check the brand and the vintage of the wine. If you buy older vintages they are not always as good as newer vintages. This is because older wines use smaller barrels and older barrels have a tendency to contain more moisture. When this happens, the yeast in the barrels begin to ferment and release their byproducts.

When buying food that contains gluten, you might notice that some brands of alcohols contain oak barrels. Oak barrels are used to create spirits of all types. If you are purchasing alcohols that say they are “aged” in oak barrels then this means that the alcohol was created in oak barrels. However, it is important to know that not all brands of spirits are created in oak barrels. This is especially true with most bakers goods such as bread and sweets.

Some Great Options

Apple juice is one of the safest gluten-free foods available. You can purchase this type of juice at any grocery store. Apple juice does not contain gluten; it contains no sugars or preservatives. This means that if you have a gluten-free diet you should be able to enjoy apple juice, but it is important to note that you should not drink this type of juice if you have an intolerance for gluten.

One of the easiest alcohols to find that is safe to drink if you have a gluten-free diet is gin. Gin does not contain gluten, so you can enjoy this alcoholic drink. You will want to purchase distilled gin from a distiller to ensure that it is safe to drink. If you choose to purchase this brand of gin, you will want to make sure that it is distilled from all-natural ingredients.

Conclusion

If you are still not sure if wine is safe to drink on a gluten free diet, then you may want to consider white vinegar. This type of vinegar is safe to ingest, but you will want to use it sparingly. White vinegar can be used in a variety of recipes because it has a neutralizing effect on some of the more popular foods that you can find on a gluten free diet. If you have never made a dish with vinegar before, you may want to practice a little bit of it to get used to the taste. The most important thing is that you should always make sure that a dish is safe to eat if you are trying to learn how to make wine gluten free.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter