Do Cross-Contamination With Dairy Products Happen - glutenzo.com

Do Cross-Contamination With Dairy Products Happen


are dairy products gluten free

“Is Dairy Products Gluten Free?” is one of the questions many people ask themselves and have asked themselves a couple times. Is it true that dairy products are gluten free? Do they really have to be 100% gluten free to be safe? How does this even make any difference if its in pasteurized or its in its naturally occurring form?

An Overview

A piece of cake on a plate

Some people are very mortified when giving up gluten and any other allergies. They may think that they are not being true to themselves and maybe even their families by not eating these products. This can cause a lot of psychological problems in some cases. Other people do not believe that it will happen to them. However, it can and does happen sometimes.

Many types of dairy products may contain gluten or not enough gluten for your diet. Common examples are: Soya, Glutino, and lactose. Many soy sauces have a soy wax coating that contains trace amounts of gluten that are not fully understood. If you have had symptoms, especially abdominal pain or rash in the past, you should check out your soy sauce.

Top Recipes

A piece of cake on a plate

Glutino and lactose free ice creams are popular as well. If the ice cream does not say it is free of cross-contamination, you should try to look for the mark on the back of the container that says “made in a facility that meets the highest standards of gluten-free manufacturing.” Just because a product is labeled gluten free does not mean it is completely free of cross-contamination. These manufacturers are still making changes to ensure cross-contamination is minimized.

If you’re shopping for pizza sauce you may be concerned about cross-contamination. You might want to check the ingredients and determine if it contains gluten. If you are eating a pizza or pasta dish at a Chinese restaurant, you may be more concerned with what the sauce is made of and not so much about the gluten. Common examples are: Organic Hawaiian Pizza Sauce or Organic Italian Pizza Sauce. However, if you’re looking for a malt vinegar you should consider purchasing a brand that contains no distilled vinegar or caramel coloring. Most Asian food items will contain gluten, which is why you may need to choose from a variety of Asian foods to find one you like.

Tasty Sausages

Many “healthy” sauces for a wide range of cuisines use gluten-containing sauces as a marketing strategy. However, these healthy sauces are usually made of vegetable oils and spices rather than gluten. If you purchase a sauce that contains gluten, you should read the ingredients and determine if there is something you can remove to reduce the risk of cross-contamination. For example, balsamic vinegar may contain a small amount of gluten, but if you remove the first ingredient (the balsamic vinegar) you can still enjoy the dish.

Many “dairy-free” products also contain gluten. Gluten free desserts include: Ice cream cakes, ice cream cakes, chocolate ice cream and sherbet, sorbet, sherbet, banana pudding and sherbet, chocolate chip cookies and brownie, banana nut and apple pie. Cross-contamination with gluten is more common in sweet desserts, which contains a high level of bacteria.

Final Tip

The main problem for cross-contamination with gluten comes when breads and baked goods are produced in the same factory, or when one person uses equipment to mix the ingredients while another uses a different machine. If this happens repeatedly, the chances of cross-contamination increase dramatically. Cross contamination between gluten-free baked goods is extremely unlikely, but it is always a good idea to be aware of your situation before purchasing a new pantry item.

Conclusion

You will want to carefully read the label on each product to make sure that it does not contain gluten. Some high quality, popular brands may be labeled as “gluten free,” but this does not mean that they contain any gluten. Gluten free include: cornbread, bread, crackers, popcorn, pizza dough, pancake, French toast, pasta, pizza, soups, vegetable spread, soup, cereal bars, granola bars, and snack foods like pretzels, nuts, and trail mix.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter