Five Foods You Can Eat Instead Of Rice, Pasta And Other Cereal - glutenzo.com

Five Foods You Can Eat Instead Of Rice, Pasta And Other Cereal


gluten free diet food

An allergen is something that causes allergy or irritation to the body. This is why people with Celiac disease need to avoid foods that are made from these proteins. In general, people who follow this diet are less likely to develop digestive problems.

However, many food manufacturers still use gluten in their products. When a food contains gluten, it is still called ‘gluten-free’. In addition, food that contains gluten is still technically gluten-free, but may not have been processed properly to remove all traces of gluten. Therefore, you need to be careful when buying food online or in health stores that claim to be ‘gluten free’.

Gluten

A close up of a cake

Do you know that many cereals contain gluten? Do you also know that gluten can still be found in some popular cheese brands? This kind of surprise could shock you, especially if you are a celiac or gluten intolerant.

But just because some of your favorite brands use gluten-free ingredients does not mean that it is completely free of gluten. Below are a few examples:

Peanut Butter

A close up of a beverage in a glass cup

This food item contains peanut oil, butter, and cornstarch, all of which are commonly found in processed peanut butter. Although it has been removed from the label, you cannot assume that it doesn’t contain gluten.

As mentioned, most processed peanut butter is already gluten-free, so you won’t know until you read the ingredients. Look carefully at the ingredients list for peanuts’ or peanut’ oil’. If you see both ingredients, then it probably does contain gluten. However, look for a healthier alternative.

Pine Nuts

Just like Peanut Butter, you cannot assume that a product that contains walnuts, or walnut oil, is safe. Again, gluten free diet food needs to be carefully scrutinized. You can read more about this here.

Some gluten-free products, such as rice cakes, use walnuts as an ingredient. You need to look for the words” Kinder” or “Nut” in the ingredients list.

Rice Cereals

Many rice cakes have wheat flour as an ingredient. If it does not say “wheat flour” on the label, look for the words “powdered rice”, “quick-cook rice”, or “whole foods”. These types are gluten free diet foods that can be made at home.

The key is to read the label carefully and make sure that you read the ingredients list. Look for the words “powdered rice” or “quick-cook rice”, which will tell you that the rice will be heated to a high temperature.

Flaxseed Oil

If you read “soy and corn” on a label, then it is safe to assume that the products are gluten free diet foods. This is one of the best choices for cooking and baking. Flax seed is rich in protein and helps lower the risk of heart disease.

It is also a great source of fiber. The next time you are looking for breads, pretzels, crackers, cookies or other snack foods, try using flaxseed instead of regular wheat flour.

Final Words

As you can see, there are some great alternatives to rice, pasta and wheat if you decide to follow a gluten-free lifestyle. It does take a bit of extra time and effort to find these products, but they are out there and are a great alternative to traditional wheat products. Your family will love the taste and texture of quinoa, amaranth, buckwheat, millet, buckwheat and other great grains. With some creative cooking and a few changes to your current recipes, you can transform your gluten-filled diet into something that everyone can enjoy.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter