Gluten-Free Rice Foods That You Should Know About


does rice have gluten

Many people wonder does rice have gluten. Do I need to take it out of my spaghetti? Do I have to throw away any brown rice I have in my cupboard? Does rice have gluten? If you have a gluten allergy or celiac disease you might ask yourself these questions frequently and this makes perfect sense.

Rice Frequently Contains Oats Which Is Made From Buckwheat

A couple of people posing for the camera

It’s surprising how many common everyday foods contain gluten. Many cereals, pasta meals and breads contain the protein gliadin which is present in wheat and rye but not barley which is a barley alternative. Cereal often contains a combination of ingredients such as corn syrup, milk and lactose (one of many sugars) plus whey, casein and caseinates. Many of the breads you eat at restaurants contain wheat (including Italian brie and French toast) plus barley (a byproduct of wheat). Even though some of these products don’t contain wheat, they can still contain barley and some manufacturers use it to make their breads healthier.

Rice also frequently contains oats which is made from buckwheat (a grain) plus a combination of other ingredients such as corn syrup, tapioca starch, corn meal, tapioca starch, zinc, magnesium and manganese. Some rice is even gluten-free, although this is rare. Oats are included in some breakfast cereals but check the ingredients list for the inclusion of oats. Any type of rice, whether white or brown, usually contains gluten as part of the main ingredients. However, it’s important to read the labels carefully.

It Contains Soy Sauce Which Is Made From Soybeans –

A close up of an animal

Rice also frequently contains soy sauce which is made from soybeans. Wheat gluten is added to soy sauce so it contains the protein gluten but not the allergenic components. The most common brand of soy sauce in the US is Asian Brands. Just be careful that this type of rice contains no wheat.

Gluten-free rice is made by removing the glutinous rice flour, which are made up of the protein gliadin, the binder of doughs, and the starches. The starches are left intact, so the rice has a gooey texture. Then you grate the glutinous rice flour with a fine-bladed knife. It sounds easier than it really is to do but try not to cut into the grain of the rice. You want to leave it on the flat side to avoid any gluten or glutamic cross-reactions in your mouth. Once it is done as you like, drain it and serve with a spicy or sweet dip.

Wild Rice Or Blue

Wild rice, also called wild rice or blue-gold, is derived from brown basins. It differs from regular brown basins in that it has a stronger aroma and flavor. These thicker and fuller grained rice papers hold less water compared to regular basins. This makes it a natural form of wheat-free flour, although it tastes great. There are many types of bread made with it such as rolls, biscuits, pizzas, spaghetti, and Indian cuisines.

Red and black rice can be used as substitutes for wheat flour, especially in baking. They have similar properties, which makes them good for baking, such as low-fat and cholesterol-free content. They also have the same texture as the former but give it a slightly different flavor. Black rice gluten-free food is more commonly available at health food stores and supermarkets.

Last Words

Lastly, there is quinoa. It is similar to couscous but without the barley taste or texture. It is high in beta glucan, a fiber form of starch, and has more health benefits than wheat, including being a good source of protein, iron, and vitamin E. In addition to quinoa, other gluten-free grains such as oats, amaranth, buckwheat, flaxseed, millet, and teff can be used as substitutes for wheat.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter