If you are wondering on is rice gluten free? The, you must know that yes almost every rice comes in gluten free form. This includes brown rice, white rice, and wild rice. Even Asian or Sticky rice, also called “glutinous rice,” is gluten-free, despite its name. In this case, the “glutinous” term refers to the sticky nature of the rice and not the gluten protein found in wheat, barley, and rye.
Rice is one of the most popular gluten-free grains for people with celiac disease. Many packaged goods are made with rice instead of wheat.
There are some instances where rice may not be free of it. In addition to cross-contact, rice can be made or sold with various spices and sauces that could contain gluten. Some names may be misleading as well. For example, rice pilaf may sound like it, however, it is typically made with orzo, which is not free. Always double check ingredient labels to be sure that what you are eating is truly gluten-free. When in doubt, avoid the product or contact the manufacturer to get more information.
Is Rice Gluten Free? Rice And Cross-Contact
Even though rice is naturally free of it, it can come into contact with wheat, barley, and rye during the growing, harvesting and manufacturing process. Be sure on, buy rice that is labeled or certified gluten-free. Avoid buying rice from bulk bins at the grocery store. Cross-contact can easily occur in the bulk bins if other shoppers use the same scoop for both gluten-free and gluten-containing grains. You must also take every precaution that is possible.
If you’re eating rice in a restaurant, make sure there are no added ingredients that would make the rice no longer gluten-free. You must check and see if the rice can be made in its own clean pan. So that the cross-contact doesn’t happen while cooking.
Celiac Disease Symptoms After Eating Rice
If you have symptoms after eating rice, check the package or review how it was prepared. Was a gluten-containing ingredient added? Could cross-contact have occurred? Answering these questions will help you avoid gluten exposure in the future.
If your symptoms don’t go away, check in with your doctor for some advice. Your doctor can also test you to see if your gluten antibody levels are high. This will show if you are somehow eating gluten, even though it cannot tell when or how gluten got into your system. This test is the same blood test you received when first being tested for celiac disease.
Arsenic In Rice
Recently, there have been concerns about arsenic being in rice. Arsenic is a naturally occurring chemical that is found in nature. Consuming high levels of arsenic can be dangerous and unhealthy. Arsenic in rice is a concern for people with celiac disease because this group tends to eat many more rice-based products than those who eat wheat. There are many studies which are being conducted on the issue. However, Tricia Thompson, MS, RD has shared recommendations for people with celiac disease.